Feta hotcakes with honey and crispy bacon

March 1, 2010

I really like breakfast. So much so that I don’t like to miss an opportunity to eat it, even when it’s not breakfast time. Yesterday I effectively ate three breakfasts: porridge for actual breakfast-breakfast, these thick spongy pancakes for a breakfast-lunch, and banana bread for a breakfast-snack.

Both the hotcakes and the banana bread were taken from the brunch section of ‘Fabulous Food’, but here’s the thing: while I really like breakfast, I do not especially like brunch. I discovered this last year, which a group of friends and I over-enthusiastically branded the ‘year of brunch’. We imagined lazy weekend mornings with stacks of American-diner style pancakes with maple syrup, decadent hours devoted to nothing but reading the paper and eating french toast, hell, there was even talk of investing in a shared waffle iron. Ultimately we only had a few brunches before it all fell apart through our own laziness, but I was secretly not that upset. The problem is, if I have brunch, I can’t have breakfast. That’s one whole meal carelessly obliterated, and I don’t take well to missing meals. I am a carefully calibrated breakfast-eating machine, and it proved extremely difficult for me to wake up late enough for brunch rather than springing hungrily out of bed at my usual hour, putting the kettle on and making a huge bowl of porridge.

The demise of brunch was for the best, I think: this way I get to eat breakfast for breakfast and lunch, and I like that a lot.

Feta hotcakes with honey and crispy bacon  Makes 9 hotcakes

125g buckwheat flour
25g wholemeal flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
50g feta (the recipe says reduced-fat, but I couldn’t bring myself to)
4 rashers bacon (or more, if you want)
200ml milk
1 egg
sunflower oil, for frying
2 tbsp honey

Mix the flours and bicarbonate of soda in a medium-sized bowl. Make a well in the centre. Beat the egg in the milk and pour the whole lot into the well, drawing the flour from the edges in and beating until you have a thick batter. Crumble in the feta. The consistency should be about that of thick yoghurt, so add more flour if necessary. Set aside to rest for 10 minutes.

Put the bacon under a medium-high grill to crisp.

Heat a little sunflower oil in a non-stick pan and ladle in rounds of batter. You should get 2-3 cakes from a ladleful. Cook for about 2 minutes on the first side, until bubbles start to form on the surface, then flip and cook for a further minute on the other side. Keep warm while you finish cooking all of the batter.

Serve 3 or more hotcakes per person with a couple of rashers of bacon and honey drizzled over the top.

Adapted from Sophie Michell’s ‘Fabulous Food: Sexy Recipes for Healthy Living’.

Leave a Reply

