Nasi goreng

February 23, 2010

What with busyness meaning I failed to really do the Leon book justice, we’re moving right along to ‘Fabulous Food’ by Sophie Michell. I picked this one up while at a photogrammetry conference in Leicester. Yes, if I say that my job involves travel, that makes it sound interesting and glamorous, but the reality is a little different. I have been to some fantastic places, true, but all too often I’m alone in a Holiday Inn in Leicester. It can get lonely. Generally, my main weapon against loneliness is consumption: i.e., I eat or I go shopping, preferably both. To my mind, the two most comforting places to head for in any strange city are 1) the second hand shops and 2) the art galleries. Some strange nesting instinct causes me to feel more at home in a hotel room if I can surround myself with unnecessary new purchases, like 15-piece tea-sets (socio-legal studies, Canterbury). You can’t buy much in an art gallery, but they make me feel calm, and they usually have a cafe.

Where am I going with this? Fabulous Food is probably not the sort of book I might have otherwise bought. It’s full of the sort of hyper-girliness that I find quite grating, all fitting into little black dresses, not drinking beer because it’s not ladylike and not cooking for a man until the third date. The food though, appealed to me. This week I feel like eating simple, quick food that makes me feel a bit healthier, and this nasi goreng really fit the bill – a doddle to make while famished, with enough crunch and chew and freshness to still feel rewarding.

Nasi goreng  Serves 1

Note: portion sizes in this book are small. When I made this for dinner last night I almost wept at its meagreness, but then I actually felt oddly full afterwards, so I’ve left it as is. However, I would suggest doubling the amount of rice if you’re hungry.

100g cooked rice (about 35g raw rice)
100g prawns (you could use tofu to make it veggie)
small handful salted peanuts
1/2 tbsp sesame oil
2 spring onions, finely sliced
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 chilli, deseeded and finely sliced
1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 egg
lime quarters, for serving

Heat the sesame oil in a frying pan or wok and stir fry the garlic, spring onions and chilli for a couple of minutes. Add half of the vegetable oil and the prawns and cook for 3 minutes. Add in the rice, soy sauce and chilli sauce, stirring and heating the rice through.

Meanwhile, fry the egg in the rest of the vegetable oil, making sure that the yolk stays runny.

To serve, mound up the rice, scatter with peanuts and top with the fried egg. Lime quarters on the side.

Adapted from Sophie Michell’s ‘Fabulous Food: Sexy Recipes for Healthy Living’.

Leave a Reply

