Baked yoghurt with frangelico

January 18, 2010

It’s not often you come across something completely new in a cookbook. I mean, recipes you haven’t tried yet, yes, but completely new ideas? Like baked yoghurt? I had no idea you could bake yoghurt. But as soon as I knew you could, I wanted to. Especially if it involved frangelico, which is a deliciously sweet hazelnut liqueur that I like to have around. And the great thing about this is, once you’ve discovered the technique, the variations are pretty much endless: imagine it with another liqueur, or the alternative listed in the book, baked yoghurt with fig jam. If I’d had fig jam, that might have been a tough decision, but I think the frangelico still would have edged it.

So the book describes these puddings as having the texture of the top bit of a cheesecake – I found mine turned out a bit more moussey than that, but then I didn’t cool them for very long. Either way, boozy yoghurt mousse was nice. And it really works in the way that a cheesecake works, with that satisfying combination of dairy and sweetness and richness. This was pudding after the Moroccan chicken and it went down perfectly, even on an already full belly.

Baked yoghurt with frangelico  Serves 4

I’ve reproduced the quantities as written, although you could halve it, as I did, safe in the knowledge that I have another recipe coming up to use the other half of the condensed milk. Also, I ended up leaving out the lime and hazelnuts because I didn’t have a lime and was feeling lazy.

500g natural yoghurt (I used the Rachel’s whole milk one)
1 x 397g tin of condensed milk
1 small lime (optional)
100ml frangelico liqueur
3 handfuls hazelnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 180c. Measure out the yoghurt and whisk so there is no contrast between curd and whey – I didn’t need to do this as my yoghurt seemed fairly well homogenised. Pour in the condensed milk and beat. Now grate in the lime zest, if using, and pour in the liqueur. Pour the mixture into four ramekins – it may stretch to five. I actually filled two mugs with my half measures, so either Rosie’s ramekins are bigger than mine (ooh!) or my yoghurt measurements were very imprecise, which is entirely possible. And, come to think of it, that might be why mine didn’t set quite so much.

Place the ramekins on a roasting tin and fill with water until it comes two-thirds of the way up the puddings. Place the tray in the oven for 20 minutes. When ready, they should only wobble slightly in the centre. They will emulsify as they cool.

If using the hazelnuts, roughly chop and toast them and sprinkle over the tops of the yoghurt pots.

Adapted from Rosie Lovell’s ‘Spooning With Rosie’.

2 Responses to “Baked yoghurt with frangelico”


  1. […] the inclusion of condensed milk (another one of my favourite things! Which I particularly enjoyed here and here and here. Oh yeah, and […]


  2. […] you can pour it over ice cream alongside coffee for a more alcoholic affogato, or you can add it to baked yoghurt, or buy Allegra McEvedy’s Colour Cookbook and make the ’autumn a la mode’ on […]


Leave a Reply

